Domaine d’Aubaret Cabernet Sauvignon (2007)

reserve-domaine-daubaret-cabernet-sauvignon-20071It is Monday evening and we both worked hard at our jobs today. I was able to sneak in a 3-mile noon hour run.

I am making ricotta-stuffed chicken breasts,  brown rice, and steamed asparagus for dinner tonight and I chose this French Domaine D’Aubaret Cabernet Sauvignon 2007 because I thought it would be a good complement (and because I was curious to taste it). We haven’t had much opportunity to taste many French Cabernet Sauvignons.

This is a keeper and I like it very much.  As soon as I opened the bottle, I knew I was in for something good; the nose  is brimming with licorice and spice. The color is a deep red in the glass. On the palate is plenty of plums, cranberries, and cedar. The tannins are full and round.  Yes, this is yummy and I am glad that we have three more bottles waiting for us to enjoy. Cheers!

9 Responses to “Domaine d’Aubaret Cabernet Sauvignon (2007)”

  1. Marty & Jeannie Says:

    Melody, its a WSJ or any other club wine…the house is in Faugeres in the Cotes de Thongue region (we have been there), is a VdP wine. The house is better known for its Merlot than for CS but the major wine grapes of Languedoc are Mourvedre, Grenache, Syrah/Cinsault. I have seen a pic of the CS in a PN bottle (not good) & FR never list the grape name on their bottles; dont make 100% CS and a
    2007 would need cellering for 3-5 years. Wine clubs are not scams, but they do prey on the unknown…Sorry.
    Cheers? Marty and Jeannie

  2. ether Says:

    keep blogging…i count on your opinions when deciding which wines to order

  3. Jeff Says:

    Thanks for your review on this wine. Were the other bottles as good as the first? I have a bottle sitting here that I am getting ready to open…

  4. Sam Says:

    Never let anyone change your mind if you like something, a lesson not just for wine


Leave a comment