Liberty School Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon (2010)

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone! Tom always gets me roses on Valentine’s Day so this morning I texted him from my office and said “I don’t know if you are thinking about flowers, but I would prefer a special bottle of wine for us to share in lieu of flowers.” So I got home from work today and there were a dozen red roses on the table and this bottle of wine. That just makes me melt. He didn’t have to do that. . .

I went to a bit more effort tonight than usual (for a midweek meal) because I wanted our Valentine’s dinner to be special. . .so I made roast chicken. I filled the cavity with fresh lemon wedges and garlic and rubbed the outside with spices before roasting at 500 degrees for 1 hour and then turning the heat down for the remainder of the bake time. I threw some carrots and potatoes in the skillet along with the chicken. Very fragrant and flavorful.

The first taste of this wine was leather and tobacco but as it decants I note dark fruit. . .blackberries and ripe plums. Tom says “the tobacco is strong but very pleasant.” I think it is great and complements are chicken dinner nicely.

20130214-195610.jpg

Leave a Reply

