Elsa Bianchi (2007)

Elsa Bianchi Cabernet Sauvignon 2007

This Argentinian Elsa Bianchi Cabernet Sauvignon 2007 arrived in one of our wine club shipments. I have tasted and blogged about his wine before and I think this is our last bottle. We are celebrating a Friday night, although I am working all weekend (because I am teaching a summer term weekend class).

I like this wine very much. On the nose I detect smoked meat — such as ham. In the mouth, I taste cherries and black dirt. I know I had rated this finish as moderate when I tasted it the first time, but I would have to say it is a rather short finish. Nevertheless, it is a taste that I love and I would purchase this wine again, absolutely.

This morning before work, I assembled a beef roast in the crock pot along with potatoes, carrots and onions. I knew it would be a long day and it is nice to know dinner is ready when we finish reading the paper and having our cocktail. So, I chose this Cabernet to go with our pot roast dinner. Nothing like a good, old-fashioned pot roast to end the work week!

Leave a comment