Veramonte Cabernet Sauvignon (2008)

I bought this Veramonte Cabernet Sauvignon 2008 at “World Market” in Ann Arbor. Lately, I have been stopping in there and picking up a dozen bottles at a time — my strategy is that about half of my dozen are on sale and pretty inexpensive while the other six bottles are not on sale but look to be very good. This averages out to be a very reasonable price per bottle.

Time and time again, I find that you get what you pay for with wine. This goes against what I often read, which is that price has nothing to do with the quality of wine, but on the basis of experience I would generally disagree with that premise. Now, granted, I am not talking about $100 vs. $10 bottles of wine. My experience has been in the $15-20 vs. the $4 – 10 bottles of wine.

I purchased this particular bottle for $9.99. Happily, this wine is an excellent value, which is consistent with many Chilean wines that we have enjoyed. We are generally very pleased with the quality of Chilean red wines and this is no exception. This is medium bodied with a pleasant mineral and cedar taste and slightly metallic finish.

We are having this wine with a black bean/tortilla/salsa casserole (I really should come up with a clever name), baked acorn squash and green salad.

6 Responses to “Veramonte Cabernet Sauvignon (2008)”

  1. Anne Says:

    Have you tried their Sauvignon Blanc? I thought it was delicious.
    Although Argentinian, a good wine at a great price is Finca de Origin Malbec and the Cab. Sauv.
    So glad you are back to blogging.

    • Tom & Melody Says:

      Thank you, Anne. We went through an extremely hectic period and the blog took the hit. We have not tried the Sauvignon Blanc. We pretty much only drink reds around our house. Tom is very open to white wines — I’m the problem child in that department. I will look for the Finca de Origin Malbec and Cabernet. It sounds familiar to me and I wonder if we have had it. I will let you know if/when we do.

  2. ctwino Says:

    I enjoy all Veramonte wines…very good QPR.


Leave a Reply

