Vitiano (2007)

Friday night is finally here. What a busy week. The weather is still warm but there is a wind advisory and we can feel the cooler air moving in. Today was in the 80’s but the weekend high is going to be in the low 60’s.

So tonight I am having a glass of this Umbria blend of Cabernet, Sangiovese and Merlot. The Vitiano 2007 has a nose that is not particularly inviting, in my opinion. But, I have noticed this before with Italian wines so maybe it speaks more to a lack of sophistication on my part than to the actual quality of the aroma. However, I find the nose to be vegetal and musty. It is difficult for me to enjoy the taste of wine when I don’t like the nose. Nevertheless, this wine has good fruit flavor and a strong chocolately finish. It is decent but I probably won’t buy it a second time.

Looking forward to my weekend.

2 Responses to “Vitiano (2007)”

  1. ctwino Says:

    Mel, What about the meal? It looks wonderful…
    Tough FB game – did Eastern have you playing QB? lol. Jim

  2. Tom & Melody Says:

    Hi Jim. . .yes a very tough game to watch at the end but I was proud of our team for scoring more points than any previous team this season. You are right. . .I forgot to talk about that meal! It was good. It was a beef and potato casserole with sauteed asparagus. Watch for a ‘W’ this weekend!


Leave a Reply

