Bolla Chianti (2008)

Just as I started to write, Louie Armstrong’s What a Wonderful World started playing. Instantly puts me in a happy, grateful and joyful mood. . .so don’t expect a negative review! I love that song.

So, here we are a Monday evening. It is unseasonably hot in Michigan. . .low 90’s or maybe high 80’s by now at close to 8:00 p.m. So, we are going to grill burgers and I am going to make a green salad with my homemade salad dressing. It occurs to me that I have never purchased salad dressing, ever. I can’t even imagine it could be good. . .not when freshly made is so tangy and delicious.
Mine is a simple concoction of olive oil, red wine and balsamic vinegar, spicy mustard, and basil, oregano, Rosemary, savory and thyme. Simply delicious.

This wine was a good deal at our wine shop in Ann Arbor. I picked up two of these this weekend. . .along with another 22 bottles ( a variety). We were running low. It was getting to be a wine crisis in our household so I solved that issue. Now we are stocked for the time being.

This is a nice every day wine. I would describe this as fresh and crisp. Like many Italian wines, this is not fruit forward but rather a bit dry and austere with acidic characteristics. It is a nice alternative to a California Cabernet or an Argentine Malbec.

Time to make the salad. . .cheers!

Leave a Reply

