Pepperwood Grove Cabernet Sauvignon (2008)

Here we are . . .a clear, sunny and hot July evening in Michigan. Home after a day of work. I was in the mood for a comforting meal so I stopped at the grocery store on the way home and bought groceries, including 6 bottles of red wine, one of which we are having tonight. For dinner, I made a dozen meatballs and homemade tomato sauce. The sauce is simmering and I just added the meatballs. Nothing complicated. . .I sauteed onion and garlic in my cast-iron skillet and added canned tomatoes, salt & pepper, a little sugar, basil and oregano. After that simmered for 90 minutes I added the meatballs (ground beef mixed with italian bread crumbs, Parmesan cheese, salt & pepper and an egg.  I have also made a salad with romaine lettuce, a chopped orange pepper, freshly-picked cherry tomatoes and green onions from my garden, avocado, cucumbers and my homemade salad dressing. A meal for the soul, or so I like to think!

Now, back to the wine. One of our readers recommended the Pepperwood Grove Pinot Noir, which we enjoyed so I thought we should try the Cabernet. (Also, it didn’t hurt that this wine was on sale and I was, truthfully, looking for wines that were priced right.) I would conclude this is a good value for a great wine. Quite delicious with a cheerful ruby color and a nose of raspberries and wood. The taste is a delightful blend of blackberries, oatmeal, rosemary and caramel. The finish is wonderful. There’s nothing not to like for a mid-week red wine (or even a special occasion, actually).

4 Responses to “Pepperwood Grove Cabernet Sauvignon (2008)”

  1. ctwino Says:

    Yumm!

  2. ctwino Says:

    The meal. There is something so satisfying in a bowl of pasta. We had homemade pesto over pasta last night – nothing else but some wine. Very enjoyable.


Leave a Reply

