Latitud 34 Cabernet Sauvignon (2008)

Here we are and June is nearly over. Where did it go? It’s a very warm Monday night; the grass is very green, the birds are chirping and the flowers are blooming. We’ve had a lot of rain this summer but the payoff is the vivid colors in the yard.

Tonight Tom volunteered to finish off the bottle of “Quail Creek” Cabernet Sauvignon, which was good but a little heavy on the caramel taste and a tad too sweet for me. Happily,  I opened this bottle of Argentine Cabernet Sauvignon. This has a nice complexity of flavors, including blackberries and pine needles. I really like the grippy tannins and the peppery finish.

For dinner I put some leftover (delicious) baked chicken in the oven to reheat. . .and I served it with a pasta side dish that was scrumptious. Basically, this is the recipe:  I sauteed minced garlic and onions in olive oil and added about a half pound of asparagus (cut into 1″ pieces).  I tossed everything in the hot oil and once the asparagus was crisp tender, I added everything to freshly cooked, drained,  thin-spaghetti pasta. I mixed everything with olive oil, Parmesan cheese and freshly ground salt & pepper. Delicious! It really extended the life of the baked chicken; I didn’t think we would have enough but it was more than enough for the three of us.

4 Responses to “Latitud 34 Cabernet Sauvignon (2008)”

  1. ctwino Says:

    Okay – I am too opinionated. I do something similar with zucchini and just before adding the pasta, I add a can of diced tomatoes (they make them with a kick which makes it even nicer) and a few olives and capers. Cook this mess for just a minute, add your pasta and mix with EVOO and top with Parm, salt, pepper. The nice thing is you can eat this cold too, with some nice wine….yumm.

  2. Jim Richardson Says:

    Extra virgin olive oil. Where are you…we miss you.


Leave a Reply

