Glass Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon (2007)

We are on our third official day of summer, June 23. We had a thunderstorm today and I understand there was an earthquake in Canada that was felt in metro Detroit. Some weather!

I started my day with a run with our youngest son, Tony, who is home briefly. We had a great run in the pre-storm, hot, sticky air. I then continued on with a very enjoyable day (I am on vacation this week), including lots of reading, which I love to do during stormy weather. This afternoon, I attended a visitation service for Joel Gentz , a hero in our hometown. Joel was a classmate of our oldest son, Tommy. Joel was killed in action in Afghanistan. I knew Joel when he was a baby and I have been friends with his parents. My heart goes out tonight especially to Joel’s mom, Judy. My heart is heavy for her. She and her husband, Steve, are strong but I know their hearts are breaking.

I am looking forward to tomorrow when my friend, Pat, will be coming over for a 9:00 a.m. run and then we’re going to ZouZou’s for coffee and catching up. I LOVE my vacays!!

So, tonight we are going to have hamburgers on the grill and salad. I asked Tony to pick the wine tonight and he chose this California Cabernet. Yum. It is excellent. Predominantly blackberries on the palate with licorice mingling with fruit on the finish. Nothing not to like with this wine. Absolutely scrumptious.

Leave a Reply

