LeGrand Pinot Noir (2008)

Our neighbors, Brad & Michelle, brought us this wine a couple weeks ago when we had a cookout in our back yard. I chose it tonight to go with our dinner of grilled salmon. (Thank you to Jim at Merry Hill Farm, who shared with me his recipe.)

This wine is delicious and it is the perfect choice for our fish dinner. This French Pinot has a black sheep on the label because it claims it doesn’t follow the herd. Obviously not! I find this to be a softer and more succulent Pinot than I am accustomed to with a nose of violets and cherries. The  tannins are smooth and velvety with a finish of fruit and spice.

A nice way to end a beautiful summer day. I ran 10 miles and Tom worked on installing a storm/screen door. I think he had the harder job, today!

4 Responses to “LeGrand Pinot Noir (2008)”

  1. ctwino Says:

    So…give some details. Did you use the plank? And???

    • Tom & Melody Says:

      Hey! Well, the fish turned out wonderful and I am grateful to you for giving me the little kick I needed to go out and try it. Who knew fish could be so scary to an old-hand cook like myself? I was not able to find a plank. . .granted, if I had had more time to shop around I’m sure I could have, but I had groceries in the car on a hot day so needed to get home. So, here is what I did: I started by squeezing a whole lime over all the fish and then sprinkling just a touch of white wine vinegar over that. I followed that with a touch of mayo that I spread very thinly over the top. I sprinkled a mixture of spices (salt & pepper, paprika, oregano & basil) on top. I drizzled olive oil on both sides. (Still with me?) We then grilled the fish directly on the grill. It turned out flaky and tasty. I served it with mashed red potatoes and a salad. It was delicious and I owe it all to you!


Leave a Reply

