Walnut Crest Cabernet Sauvignon (2008)

Okay, this Walnut Crest Cabernet Sauvignon 2008 is a cheap wine that my husband bought at our local grocery store (I believe he said it was around $6). So, being a little bit of a wine snob (or so I like to think) I was prepared to not like it. Well, I like it. Granted, I am not going to rave about it, but it is pleasant. This will go well with a simple meal I have prepared — a savoury casserole of ground beef, onions, peppers, potatoes, corn, cheese, etc. . .a simple wine for a simple meal! The predominant taste is cranberries with notes of thyme and sage. The finish is a little hotter than I would like, but not bad at all.

Sadly, this is my last day on vacation and I am back to work on Monday. Usually, I am celebrating “TGIF” but tonight I am sorry to see Friday arrive. . .however, it’s been a delicious week for me and I enjoyed every minute. And, while I hate to see it end, I will enjoy getting back to work (once I get there- haha).

Tom: A friend, calling from a supermarket wine aisle, recently asked for a wine recommendation and I said, “Anything from Chile is good.” My thinking was that more-expensive Chilean wines, both reds and whites, are great and the less-expensive are at least OK. This Walnut  Crest Cabernet Sauvignon 2008 is a test case. It was under$6. I think it proves the rule. It’s at least OK. It has dark fruit and some tannins (although a bit too much sweetness). But it’s an OK table wine, and better than many other fruit bombs that your $6 -$7 could buy. If you’re underwhelmed, for $11-$12 you can pick up a Casillero del Diablo Carminere and have a pretty darn good Chilean.

Leave a Reply

