Grayson Cellars Cabernet Sauvignon (2008)

Oh boy! It’s Friday night and we are looking forward to our weekend. I was going to say it will be relaxing, but really it won’t be, although we’ll enjoy ourselves! We have lots to do: mowing, grocery shopping, garden planting, running, laundry, etc. I leave on Monday for a 5-day seminar so I will make the most of my weekend.

For dinner, I am going to make really juicy, delicious hamburgers. . . I mixed the ground beef with onions and steak sauce and spices and will cook on high heat in my cast iron skillet, and I’ll toast the buns. Plus, I am making a fresh salad with lettuce, avocado, tomatoes, peppers and my homemade salad dressing (which is delish and good for you, to boot). So, I chose this lovely wine that I found at the A & L Wine Castle in Ann Arbor. Robert Parker loved it so it certainly lends credibility to what I think! Like most California Cabernets that I have had, this is delicious. The color is deep red and the  nose is rich with dark fruit, pepper and oak. It has a nice round mouthfeel with pleasant tannins. The finish is long with hints of vanilla and oak.

Robert Parker of Wine Advocate said it is “an incredible value,” “just amazing” and “tastes like Cabernet in the $25 – $40 dollar range.”  I was able to purchase this wine for $8.99 (on sale from $12.99). That’s $4 I can spend on something else!🙂

Leave a Reply

