Santa Carolina Cabernet Sauvignon (2007)

We are having a cold spell in Michigan. No one is complaining, though, because we have had such a beautiful spring. But tonight it is cold and rainy. A cozy night and I am thankful to be inside looking out the window.

For dinner tonight I have two round steaks (they look like cubed steaks to me) cooking in a mushroom sauce (with mushrooms from my food co-op). I added potatoes to the mix to simmer. I will also make a fresh salad and steamed green beans. So, for the wine, I chose this Santa Carolina Cabernet Sauvignon 2007 from Chile. I stopped at the A & L Wine Castle (in Ann Arbor) on the way  home from work last night and purchased 11 bottles. This was one of them. The nose is a bit different than what I am used to — floral with some cedar. The palate is interesting. . .and, no lie, I pondered for awhile and concluded that I was tasting green peppers and chocolate. . .then I checked the label and discovered that the wine makers said ” Bright ruby red in colour, with hints of green pepper and chocolate. . .” so I guess my impressions are not unique. Grippy tannins with a vanilla finish. Like it! This was on sale for $7. I would have to say this is a very good value. There is no doubt: Chilean wine is a very good value.

Tom: This Santa Carolina Cabernet Sauvignon 2007 is a very big wine, very full-bodied, tannic, with a chocolaty, dark-fruit taste. Very big. Perhaps a tiny bit overly acidic (to my taste), but a wonderful wine and an amazing value. A friend asked me for wine advice last week, and I said, “Really, anything from Chile is great.”

Leave a Reply

