Venta Morales Tempranillo

It’s an early-May Sunday evening. It’s been raining on and off but it is very warm for a spring night in Michigan. We have our windows open and can hear the birds, the frogs and the trains.

I am finishing this bottle of Tempranillo that I purchased at the Plum Market in Ann Arbor. I really, really like this wine and may purchase a case, actually. Although I like to have a lot of variety for my blog, I also like to stock up on the wines that I really enjoy and this is definitely one of them.

I have chicken in the oven for our dinner tonight. I brined the chicken for about 2 hours (in salt water) and then rinsed and coated with bread crumbs and spices. I am also making sauteed carrots (I have a lot of carrots to use up from my food co-op), spinach (also from the food co-op) and potatoes. And, a salad. Meanwhile, we are reading the paper and working half-heartedly on Friday’s Wall Street Journal crossword puzzle.

This Spanish Tempranillo is luscious with a color of ink in the glass. It is bursting with black fruit.  The aroma is fresh cherries and a bit of smoke. You can sink your teeth into these tannins.

Leave a Reply

