Valoroso Cabernet Sauvignon Castelao (2008)

It’s a Friday night — woo hoo! It was a long and arduous work week for me and included a very, very long road trip to do a presentation and then turn around and drive back. (Well, ride back; I didn’t have to drive. . .my colleague did all the driving; thank you, Mike!)

So, here we are; taking a deep breath and relishing in our Friday night status! I have leftovers (pot roast) heating up on the stove. I also have some kale I will saute and I am going to make a fresh salad with arugula, romaine, avocado and carrots (that’s all I have) with my homemade salad dressing. This is the best salad dressing. It is all we ever eat in this household. In a nutshell, here is what I do: I take a bottle of spicy mustard that is close to empty. I add olive oil, balsamic vinegar and red wine vinegar until it is almost full. Then, I add basil oregano, savory, rosemary and thyme, along with salt & pepper. Shake until the spicy poupon/horseradish mustard is mixed well and what you have is a simply delicious salad dressing. This bottle will last for many salads (or until you have nearly finished the next spicy mustard).

I chose this wine (from a wine club) for tonight because I think it will hold up well to the roast beef. This Portuguese wine is just the ticket tonight. Lots of plum and a bit of spice on the palate and a velvety, silky finish. There is nothing not to like . . .as it breathes, I also note cloves and a touch of tobacco.

8 Responses to “Valoroso Cabernet Sauvignon Castelao (2008)”

  1. Joe D. Says:

    Found your blog after googling the same Valoroso Cab we also received from our wine club. Had an almost empty jar of GP mustard so decided to try your vinaigrette. Will use it over some roasted broccoli and cherry tomatoes tonight as an accompaniment to our marinated flank steak.

    • Tom & Melody Says:

      Hi Joe, Please let me know how you like the salad dressing! I am so pleased that you are giving it a try! Your dinner sounds delicious! How do you roast broccoli?

  2. Lem K Says:

    Got a bottle of this wine for our 10 year anniversary. Mmmmm very nice wine oh so mello yet it’s got a kick.

  3. Joe D. Says:

    OK, almost eight months later, but the salad dressing was great! Roast broccoli by tossing it with olive oil, cherry tomatoes, a few halved garlic cloves, and salt and pepper and placing in a preheated 350 degree oven for about 30 minutes. It’s done when the tomatoes pop and the broccoli is fork tender. Drizzle with the GP salad dressing.

  4. Joe D. Says:

    Grey Poupon, although I think any mustard would be fine.


Leave a Reply

