Penfolds Koonunga Hill Shiraz Cabernet (2006)

It’s been a while since we’ve had the time to blog but tonight is quiet. I made a pot of soup on Sunday to put away for tonight, so that is reheating and I have time to sit, have a glass of wine and stare out the window.

So, we are finishing some dregs tonight. . .I am having the rest of this Penfolds and Tom is having the last bit of a Tempranillo.

I really want to like this because I generally love a blend of Cabernet and Shiraz . And, who can argue with a name like Penfolds? But, honestly, I do have some reservations about this one. First, the positives: It is full of fruit in a characteristic Australian way. It really tastes  quite delicious, first sip. The color is deep purple in the glass. Now, the not-so-positive: It is a little thick on the palate. . .not too much nose. . .so fruity as to seem almost like grape juice. . .not a lot of complexity. However, having said this, I admit that I do enjoy this fruit-forward wine on a night like tonight — which is — a Monday. . .and we are just enjoying a glass of wine while we read the paper and wind down for the night. To summarize, I want to be accurate with my taste notes, but also be clear that this wine is a good middle-of-the-week quaff. Enjoy!

6 Responses to “Penfolds Koonunga Hill Shiraz Cabernet (2006)”

  1. passionate about wine Says:

    Great description, thick and like grape juice. I used to like that but as I have been drinking more variety I find that I don’t like that at all anymore. I guess, complexity is what is lacking.
    Glad you are back to blogging.

    • Tom & Melody Says:

      Thanks, much! It’s always helpful to know whether my impression/description is similar to others’. I think you nailed it — complexity is what we start to appreciate and expect as we develop a more sophisticated taste in wine.

  2. Mike Says:

    I have to agree with both of you…The Penfolds Koonunga Hill Shiraz Cabernet blend was one of my go-to wines in early 2009. The price was right at around $9 a bottle, and satisfied my red wine fix during the week when I did not want to open a $20+ bottle. However, I can no longer drink it…at least for now. In fact, it has become increasingly difficult for me to find a red wine under $15 that I truly enjoy. The Hedges CMS is a solid Washington State blend at around $12, and Cline Zinfandel at around $9 is still enjoyable, but I have turned to Clos De Los Siete (Michel Rolland) ($16) and Beringer Knights Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($17) as daily drinkers lately…my favorite weekend QPR is hands down the 2005 Hess Allomi Cabernet Sauvignon at around $25. The 2007 vintage is out now, and considering 2007 was a banner year in Napa, I expect no loss in quality.

    Keep up the blogging Melody!

    • Tom & Melody Says:

      Hi Mike! I appreciate hearing about the wines that you enjoy and I am taking notes. I can honestly echo your thoughts. The more I experiment with wine, the more I appreciate the higher-priced wines. Darn it. Wouldn’t it be great if that weren’t true? But, the saying “you get what you pay for” holds true, for the most part, with wine, too. I am eager to try your recommendations. Of the ones you mention, I believe we have had both the Hess and the Cline. . .two of our favorite QPRs are the Bogle Petite Syrah or Casillero del Diablo Carmenere. Have you ever tried these?

      • Mike Says:

        I have not tried the Bogle Petite Syrah, but you are the second person to suggest it to me as a daily drinker..so I will give it a shot. Never tried the Carmenere either.

      • Tom & Melody Says:

        Please let us know what you think. Both are widely available in grocery stores.


Leave a Reply

