A Papavero Primitivo Puglia (2008)

It’s Monday night and we are relaxing after a day of work. Tom chose this Italian red for our evening. I like this very much. . .very old world. . .not particularly fruity. . . the tannins are smooth and the finish is elegant.

This will go well with our dinner. I had a pound of ground chicken in the refrigerator. I mixed it with 2 eggs, 1/2 cup bread crumbs, 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, oregano, salt & pepper and made meatballs, which I browned in a hot cast-iron skillet. Then, I removed the meatballs for a bit, and sauteed onions and garlic, added tomatoes and pesto and then put the meatballs back in the skillet. This has been simmering for an hour. I am also making a salad to go with our spaghetti and meatballs. It smells so delicious!

It’s nice to start the work week with a relaxing evening and good dinner. The week ahead will be busy so this will get us off to a good start.

2 Responses to “A Papavero Primitivo Puglia (2008)”

  1. Paul & Liz Says:

    Just purchased the same wine and wondered what others have thought of it . . . good to read. Your recipe is interesting too. Do you grind your own chicken? I rarely see it in the meat sections at the local supermarket . . . they complain it that too many pains are required to sanitize their grinder, I think.

    • Tom & Melody Says:

      Hi Paul & Liz — thank you for your comments. Hope you enjoyed the wine. I do not grind my own chicken but I happened to see it for sale at the supermarket and thought I’d try it. Truthfully, I didn’t care for the meatballs as much as I do when I use beef or a beef/pork combination. . .


Leave a Reply

