Los Vascos Cabernet Sauvignon (2006)

I purchased this wine at the A & L Wine Castle in Ann Arbor. I had clipped a coupon from the newspaper that was to expire on January 31, so I made it a point to visit one of my favorite wine shops. The coupon was for $20 off $100 of wine. . .so, I carefully and studiously studied the wine bottles and brought bottle after bottle up to the counter . . .only to discover that the coupon couldn’t be used on wine with “green” price labels. (The green price tags indicated a reduced price.) Well, let me tell you, it was difficult because 80% of the wines had green price tags. But, being the trooper that I am, I left the green-tagged bottles on the counter (to purchase) and went back in search of non-discounted wines (which were considerably more expensive) and managed to use my $20 coupon, even though I spent far more than $100. Ah, well, that is a pleasant issue.  I didn’t mind. I brought home 13 bottles of very interesting wines. This was one of them.  This WAS a green-tagged wine: Normally priced at $12.99 on sale for $9.99.

I opened it last night (Sunday) for dinner with our son Tommy and his girlfriend, Amanda. I had a pork loin roast with mashed potatoes, gravy, steamed carrots, salad (and homemade cookies).

I like this wine very much. I suppose part of the reason I like it so much is because I was able to share it with Tom, Tommy & Amanda, but I also liked it because it is fruity with undertones of tobacco and a spicy finish. Just delicious. Love it.

I am finishing just a swallow of it tonight before we open another bottle of something different. It is every bit as good tonight as it was last night.

4 Responses to “Los Vascos Cabernet Sauvignon (2006)”

  1. passionate about wine Says:

    You didn’t mention a barnyard, musty smell. I have found that in Chilean wines in particular and I have found it in the wine you are blogging about, although not that particular vintage.
    Did you find that aroma?

    • Tom & Melody Says:

      Actually, yes, I have. . .and barnyard is a very descriptive word that I could use in my wine vocabulary!🙂 Now, having said that, I would also say that oftentimes the musty aroma dissipates after about 20 minutes. Is that something you have also noticed?

  2. passionate about wine Says:

    I would agree that is not as pronounced after some time, now that you mention it.
    I wish I could take credit for the descriptive word, but I just read a lot!😉


Leave a Reply

