Black Opal Cabernet Sauvignon (2008)

It’s Wednesday night. We both worked hard today. After talking about our days, we finished off Friday’s Wall Street Journal crossword puzzle. . .for me, this is a good way to get my mind off of work and onto something else — which I needed to do after my day today!

So, for dinner, I am going to work on finishing off some leftovers. I have some leftover pork roast from Sunday night, mashed potatoes and sauteed red cabbage; to that, I will also add sauteed spinach and a tossed salad. And, I have peeled and sliced some kiwi for our fruit.

Tom purchased this Australian fruit bomb at our local grocery store. It’s what I would say is your somewhat typical Australian Cabernet: super fruity, soft tannins and delicious. I like it! What keeps this wine from being something I swoon over is it’s lack of complexity and depth. But, this is more than adequate for any occasion and I would never turn it down, that is for sure. Absolutely no complaints!

2 Responses to “Black Opal Cabernet Sauvignon (2008)”

  1. The Gourmez Says:

    I think you ended up with a fruitier wine than I did. I found my bottle of the cab to be more spicy than fruity, but did get a lot of plum, too. I’ve quoted your notes on at on my own blog.


Leave a Reply

