Fife Petite Sirah (2007)

My first sip was disappointing. . .however, a little air does wonders for this California Petite Sirah. It is getting better as I swirl and wait. We bought this wine on a little outing to Trader Joe’s this past week. This wine, like many at Trader Joe’s, was very inexpensive and we thought we would give it a try. I didn’t care for the nose or the taste, at first, but as I said, decanting helps a lot.

This wine has a definite cherry taste. As of right now, I would choose not to get a second bottle, but that may change as it continues to open.

For dinner, I am making baked chicken and vermicelli. I also just took a cobbler out of the oven. I had some apples and pears that were not getting eaten, so I peeled and sliced into a casserole and topped with a sugar/flour/oatmeal combination.

I am going to make a salad, too. My salads this week have been so delicious; I just can’t get enough! I make a basic green salad with Romaine and leaf lettuce, peppers, tomatoes, avocados, green onions and my own, homemade salad dressing, which is olive oil, red wine vinegar, basil, oregano, rosemary, savory and thyme. . .all shaken in the remains of leftover spicy mustard. (When our spicy mustard get almost empty, I add all the salad dressing ingredients to it; perfect.)

My chicken is almost ready to come out of the oven so it is time to toss the salad. I will take my glass of wine with me and toss away. Cheers!

Tom: This Fife Petite Syrah 2007 is a pleasant, inexpensive ($5-6) Trader Joe’s wine. The first whiff felt a little rough, but air softened it a lot. The main nose and taste is cherries, medium body, medium tannins. This will turn out to be a fun table wine that will go great with Melody’s chicken.

Leave a Reply

