Francis Coppola Malbec (2005)

Tom poured me a glass of this California Malbec. I bought this for Tom and paid $20 for the bottle so was expecting something quite good.  Instead, I find the nose to be musty, which is a turn off for me. I am patiently swirling and sipping and hoping that as the wine breathes, the mustiness will subside. Getting past the nose (which smells like a closet filled with damp, dirty clothes). . .the taste is pretty good but, for me, the nose is such a big part of my enjoyment. I am having a difficult time getting past it.

For dinner, I am baking yams (which I received from the food co-op) along with chicken. I also have an apple cobbler baking (again, I had some extra apples from the co-op). I am going to serve this with the leftover stuffing and cranberry sauce and maybe we’ll even finally finish the pumpkin pie!

14 Responses to “Francis Coppola Malbec (2005)”

  1. passionate about wine Says:

    I agree, the nose is a big part of the wine experience. That is why any wine with that smells floral or perfumey is a turn off for me.

  2. Matteo Fagin Says:

    While I have never had any Coppola wine, due to preconceived notions “that he should stick to directing and get out of the wine making”! I’m curious to know how you would compare this US Malbec to Argentina, in style?

    • Tom & Melody Says:

      Hi Matteo. . .well, I would have to say that the US Malbec does not stand up to the Argentinian Malbec, whatsoever. I have never had an Argentinian Malbec that I did not enjoy; whereas, I found this California-produced Malbec to be absolutely non drinkable. I will not finish the bottle.

  3. Mike Says:

    I follow your blog regulraly, and never commented until now (mostly because the wines you have posted, I have not tried myself yet). The Coppola Malbec is NOT on my top-anything list. I tried this wine during my Malbec sampling phase, and was very disspointed. IMO, they key is that the Malbec grapes are not grown locally, and Coppola imports them. Stick with Chile and Argentina Malbec at 1/2 the price🙂

    • Tom & Melody Says:

      Hello Mike. Thank you for sharing your opinion on the Coppola Malbec. I would have to agree with you. . .sticking with Chilean and Argentinian Malbec seems to be the way to go. What was your opinion of the Coppola Malbec when you had it?

  4. Lucinda Says:

    I think you might be retarded. If you refer to your post on the exact same wine from April 2008 http://tomandmelodywine.com/2008/04/20/francis-coppola-celestial-blue-label-malbec-2005/ you called it a good wine (although there are not any chocolatey notes as you seemed to think). This time you clearly had a cork problem and as a “wine enthusiast” you should be able to immedately identify those.

    • Tom & Melody Says:

      Hi Lucinda — Wow, strong words. . .it sounds like you definitely have all the answers. Too bad you can’t be here in person to tell us how we experience the wine before we record it in our blog. Your intelligence puts us all to shame, I’m sure.

    • mikev101 Says:

      Lucinda, I apologize to Tom and Melody for chiming in here, but you are completely out of line. Not only must you yourself be new the wine world, but perhaps mentally challenged as well. I give people the benefit of the doubt, but for you to call somebody “retarded” leaves no doubt in my mind about the state of your mental stability. FYI Lucinda, I have consumed the same bottle of wine months, years apart and had completely different experiences. As far as the chocolate notes, Melody may experience completely different tastes and sensations that you, me or anyone else…and those sensations come from life experiences, memories, and from HER palette alone. It appears to me LUCINDA that you simply read the “professional” tasting notes and assume everyone must follow those guidelines in their experiences. I suggest you educate yourself on the great world of wine tasting, and a course in respect, tolerance and acceptance would not be a bad idea as well..

      • Tom & Melody Says:

        Thank you, Mike V. That was very touching and we appreciate you!

      • mikev101 Says:

        Melody/Tom,

        I hope you have not blogging because of Lucinda…I enjoy reading about your wine experiences!!!

      • Tom & Melody Says:

        Hi Mike, Thank you for your note! Lucinda hasn’t changed a thing for us. Our only problem this week is that our work week was a busy one and our evenings started too late to relax and enjoy a glass of wine. That will change starting tonight! Thank you, again! By the way, wasn’t Lucinda a witch in some comic book from my childhood?


Leave a Reply

