J. Lohr Paso Robles Syrah (2006)

Happy Tuesday before Thanksgiving! I have the rest of the week off so we are celebrating (natch). We started our evening with an icy-cold martini (up) while reading the newspaper. Now, we are having a glass of this lovely California Syrah as we get ready for our dinner of braised pork chops, fresh beets, mashed potatoes and green beans.

I really like this wine. . .which is why I am blogging tonight. I find that I tend not to post a blog when we have a wine that I am not crazy about. I should change that because blogging about less tasty wines is important, too. Nonetheless, I was motivated to blog about this wine because it is very, very good. The color is opaque and dark. The nose is fruity with some licorice and spice. And, oh, the taste, the taste. . . some pepper, some strawberries and cranberries, and a bit of citrus makes for an explosively tasty treat. The finish is long and licorice-y.  This is a wonderfully juicy quaff.

I purchased this wine for $12.99 at the A & L Wine Castle in Ann Arbor.

Happy Tuesday-before-Thanksgiving.  .  .cheers!

Leave a Reply

