Red Diamond Cabernet Sauvignon (2007)

It is Sunday night and our clocks are moved back for Daylight Savings Time. It is 7:30 and very, very dark. But, we had that wonderful extra-long day; what a difference an hour makes. It’s really quite amazing. It was a special day with the sun shining, the air crisp, the leaves probably past their colorful peak. We worked in the yard, put our patio furniture away, pulled out the geraniums from their pots. Trigger got a lot of walks, too.

This Washington wine is just the ticket. Lush and fruity; am I imagining it or can I detect some Washington apple orchards (not orchards, actually, but fruit acid  in the finish?  Tom bought this at our local grocery store. . . on sale for $7.95. What a good value and delicious wine.

I have chicken in the oven (legs & skinless thighs that I soaked in a saltwater brine and then tossed with bread crumbs, parsley, Parmesan cheese, olive oil).  I have brown rice simmering in broth. . .and I have Swiss Chard ready to saute. I also have a fresh cole slaw chilling  and I made oatmeal chocolate cookies for dessert.  Time to get up and saute the Swiss Chard. Cheers!

2 Responses to “Red Diamond Cabernet Sauvignon (2007)”

  1. Bob and Pat Says:

    Hi guys,
    As someone who has no sense of smell and taste buds that are at best 50% efficient, it should come as no surprise that my criteria for reds is simply that it drinks good and tastes good on the way down. I wouldn’t know the difference between the taste and aroma of apples and asparagas (that’s probably why I drink some whites).
    In addition, as someone who is retired, I don’t know how you find the time to do all of the cooking and baking while holding down a full time job. You are giving us retirees (males) a complex about our home time management.
    Should you run into a red called Azabachi, Crianza, 2005 Rioja, I would be interested in your critique. It is one of the reds I love to taste. In our area it is in the $15.00 range.
    Hopefully, you can manage to make the trip to Asheville for Christmas. Talk to you soon.
    With love, your brother-in law, and sister-in law,
    Bobadams and Pat

    • Tom & Melody Says:

      Hi Pat & Bob! It’s so nice to get your comments. You, of course, are way too modest about your taste in wine, but I do love your criteria. We are putting your wine suggestion on our “to try” list. Can’t wait! And, we are definitely coming down for Christmas. Thank you so much for having us! Trigger will love her little bed!


Leave a Reply

