Guenoc Petite Sirah (2006)

It is only Tuesday night but Tom & I both feel like we should be nearing the end of our work week! But, at least I was able to leave work on time today, which gave me time to prepare a nice dinner. My dinner tonight was largely based on a bagful of fruits and vegetables that I received from my new membership in a fruit & vegetable co-op. I have some vegetables that I don’t even recognize! But, everything is organic and I know it will be delicious. So, for dinner, we are grilling boneless pork loin chops (with a rub that I just love: brown sugar, chili pepper, salt & pepper and cumin) and steamed brown rice, and a combination of sauteed brussel sprouts and some other greens that I honestly don’t know the names . . .but I’m sure it will be delicious!! I also baked an apple crisp from the many apples I received in this week’s co-op share. The apple crisp has a lot of sliced apples topped with a combination of brown sugar, flour, oatmeal, cinnamon and some melted butter.

The wine is quite lovely! Very dark purple in the glass with a nose of  stewed plum and blackberry jam. A  nice blueberry fruit finishing with soft tannins.

Leave a Reply

