Domaine Roueire Cabernet Sauvignon (2007)

It is a hot August Saturday night in Michigan. We have our fans on and are resisting turning on the air conditioner. . .because why should we not enjoy this heat? It won’t last long! We had a typical Saturday. I started my day with a 10-mile run with my two running partners. Tom worked hard in the yard. Then, I spent the afternoon doing planning for a new course I will be teaching this fall. It is slow work, but having the run behind me helped me to sit still and make progress.  I will work on it again tomorrow.

We started our cocktail hour with an icy-cold gin & tonic. That was followed with this wine from the Languedoc region in France. The wine is very dark ruby with a black fruit nose. I love the taste . . .grass, smoky bacon and blackberries with silky tannins and a long finish. Complex and delicious. A real keeper! So glad we have a couple more bottles on the shelf.

For dinner tonight, I tried an unusal new recipe. Knowing it would be hot, I assembled a meal in the crock pot. I am cooking a turkey breast in a mixture of cranberries, orange juice, onion soup mix, celery, a pinch of salt and pepper. I have no idea how this will taste. I have heard it is quite delicious; we shall see. It smells good. I am going to serve this with a baked sweet potato and sliced melon. We shall see.

2 Responses to “Domaine Roueire Cabernet Sauvignon (2007)”

  1. Vicki Voisin Says:

    Was the turkey yummy? Vicki

    • Tom & Melody Says:

      Hi V., Yes, it was really delicious. After spending all day in the crock pot, you couldn’t tell that there was orange juice and cranberries in the sauce. It looked like a rich, brown sauce and it was very savory. I am not sure I would go out of my way to make it again, but it was very good and the leftover turkey will make some nice sandwiches.


Leave a Reply

