Bonterra Cabernet Sauvignon (2006)

It is Sunday night and we are going to grill steaks. I chose this luscious Bonterra (California) Cabernet Sauvignon to accompany our dinner.  This has been stored down in our basement because I rate this a special wine. This wine has everything that I love in a red wine. It is  big, dry, fruity and bold. Yum, yum, yum.

So, yesterday I spent 5 hours on the campus football field engaging in “Football 101” for women. Groups of about 10 women cycled through 9 position stations. At each station, we practiced getting into a stance, doing things like the Icky Shuffle and the Double Icky Shuffle, flipping our hips, punting, throwing the ball, catching the ball, blocking and on and on. Getting into a stance, we would get yelled at from a coach “Get your a– up in the air!”  We learned every position from the inside out. It was a long, arduous, educational and fun day! I have always admired our student-athletes but now I understand a bit more about why they come in from practice looking exhausted and taking the elevator instead of the stairs.

This wine will go perfect with our grilled steaks, brown rice, fresh salad and. . . something new for me. . .fried green tomatoes. The only reason I am going to make fried green tomatoes is because Tom was helping me stake my tomato plants today (they are so big that the tomato cages are pulling out of the ground) and in the process of staking, he broke off a branch. So, I found a recipe for the fried green ‘mators, and I have everything set to go (including a black, cast-iron skillet, which the recipe insists upon).I can’t wait to try them! (The recipe says to slice the green tomatoes and let them stand for 15 minutes after salting. Then dip in milk, flour, egg, bread crumbs and fry in olive oil.

For anyone who is looking for a lush Cabernet, I highly recommend the Bonterra, 2006. Cheers!

5 Responses to “Bonterra Cabernet Sauvignon (2006)”

  1. Cabernet Wine Fan Says:

    Sunday nights are perfect or even made for such a meal with a great Cabernet Sauvignon. It makes the horror dealing with Monday morning easier.

  2. Cabernet Wine Fan Says:

    Sunday nights are perfect or even made for such a meal with a great Cabernet Sauvignon. It makes the horror of dealing with Monday morning easier.

  3. Verde Lifestyles Says:

    […] Cabernet. I found this organic Cab that was rated Best Organic Cabernet for 2008. Fellow sommeliers Tom and Melody described it as “big, dry, fruity and bold” which sounds tantilizing to me. A great […]

  4. An Eco-Friendly Thanksgiving Feast « Verde Lifestyles Says:

    […] Cabernet. I found this organic Cab that was rated Best Organic Cabernet for 2008. Fellow sommeliers Tom and Melody described it as “big, dry, fruity and bold” which sounds tantilizing to me. A great […]


Leave a Reply

