Quail Creek Cabernet Sauvignon (2007)

I stopped at Whole Foods on my way home from work today to pick up a few groceries. I noticed this wine (Quail Creek Cabernet Sauvignon) on display and it was on sale for $4.99. I ended up getting three Cab’s and three Shiraz because the price was so attractive. Now, we are having a glass of the Cabernet tonight.

At first whiff, it is a bit overpowering. But, like many wines, a bit of airing takes the edge off and the aroma has softened. This fruit-forward California Cab has a nose of ripe cherries. The taste is cherries, oak and vanilla. The tannins are understated.

All in all, this is an excellent value and I am glad that I went ahead and purchased the 6 bottles. I have come to generally trust a California Cabernet and this is no exception.

For dinner tonight, we are going to be having something new. While at Whole Foods, I purchased some chicken sausages (recommended by a friend). I chose 4 different varieties (spicy, spinach & feta, blue cheese. . .and something else I can’t remember). We are going to grill these and I’ll serve them with some homemade potato salad that I made this weekend and a green salad (from my garden). I’ll report tomorrow on whether we enjoyed these chicken sausages! Cheers.

Leave a Reply

