Opi Malbec (2008)

Tom chose this lusciously delicious Argentinian Malbec for our Friday evening. Malbec happens to be one of my favorite all-time reds and this one does not disappoint.  The color is deep and opaque and the nose makes me think of ripe, concord grapes. The taste is sumptuous: dark chocolate, plums and pepper. I am enjoying this wine very much.

For dinner tonight, I made homemade tacos. We haven’t had them for a long time and I had a pound of ground beef to use. I browned the ground beef and added onions and peppers and pinto beans, along with cumin, oregano, and  chili pepper. The toppings included chopped avocados, chopped onions, chopped lettuce (yes, of course from my garden), shredded cheese, sour cream and salsa.

A fun meal for a fun, Friday night!

4 Responses to “Opi Malbec (2008)”

  1. J Farinas Says:

    Melody, how do you come up with such good manus. Please tell Tom he is a lucky guy.
    I have tried to get some of the wines you suggested but they are hard to find, but for the ones I found you were right on the money……taste, nose, color etc. and most of all with the pricing, it let me know which one I can get…Keep the good work. We all love it

    • Tom & Melody Says:

      Well, thank you SO much for the compliments! I will definitely relay the message to Tom that he is a lucky guy.🙂 Also, you make a good point about where to get the wines. I will try to include that information in the future. What state are you in?

  2. Elizabeth Says:

    Please note – your wine reviews are very good, but when you use the adjective to describe a product from Argentina it’s Argentine. When you mean a person from Argentina, use Argentinean. So an Argentinean man might introduce you to Argentine Malbec wine.


Leave a Reply

