Forbes Creek Cabernet Sauvignon (2007)

We received four bottles of this California Forbes Creek Cabernet Sauvignon in our 4Seasons wine club shipment. I opened a bottle tonight; a beautiful summer June evening. It is just delicious. I am very glad to know there are three bottles remaining! This is very easy-to-drink with  flavors of ripe fruit, black pepper and a hint of tobacco. There is a subtle touch of oak on the finish. This is delightful! Tom & I had no problem finishing the bottle.

For dinner, I had planned on making stir fry. Tom volunteered to grill the steak, so instead of stir-frying the steak, we grilled it. I first marinated the steak in a marinade of olive oil, red-wine vinegar, salt & pepper and spicy mustard. While the steak was grilling, I made a salad (with lettuce from our garden, red & yellow peppers, avocados and cucumbers); I also cooked a pot of penne pasta. Then, I sauteed asparagus in hot oil along with chopped garlic tops (the green stem that grows up from the garlic bulb). I tossed the asparagus and garlic tops with the penne pasta along with olive oil and fresh ground salt & pepper to accompany the grilled steak and the salad. It was just delicious. And, the California Cab was perfect with this meal.

5 Responses to “Forbes Creek Cabernet Sauvignon (2007)”

  1. Grilled Pork NY Strips | Pork Chop Recipe | mySteakRecipes Says:

    […] Forbes Creek Cabernet Sauvignon (2007) (tomandmelodywine.com) […]

  2. Ken Says:

    We just received our shipment of the Forbes Creek Cab (we get from “Wines Across America”, part of 4Seasons). Have not opened a bottle yet but we are glad to know that it is a good cab. We also recieved the ’07 Gold Pocket Cab and the ’08 Green Acres Ranch Zinfandel. Any thoughts on those two?

    • Tom & Melody Says:

      Hi Ken, I think you’ll be very pleased with the Forbes Creek Cab. In fact, I’m kind of hoarding the last two bottles for special occasions! I don’t believe we have tried the 07 Gold Pocket Cab or the 08 Green Acres Ranch Zinfandel, yet. When you try them, please let us know what you think. I will have to look in our “stash” and see if we have either one of those.

    • KenR Says:

      The ’08 Green Acres Zin is wonerful. I received 2 bottles from 4Season then followed that with a case order. My neighbor loved it so much that I traded him 6 bottles. Big misstake. Now I only have 1 bottle left. This may be my favorite Zin of all time.


Leave a Reply

