Fetzer Cabernet Sauvignon (2006)

It is Friday night and I just got home from a trip “up north” to see my folks and also to see our son, Tommy, perform in his band (The Ben Daniels’ Band) in the same town up north (Traverse City). What a great three days! But, I am happy to be home.

We are going to grill hamburgers tonight and I have picked lettuce and little green onions from my garden for a salad.

Tom poured me a glass of this California Fetzer Cabernet Sauvignon. Now, here is a bottle that I, more than likely, would not have purchased on my own. No good reason. . .just a groundless bias for some reason. I think of “Fetzer” as being a common and less- than-attractive name for wine (perhaps because it is available at most grocery stores). Totally groundless (and maybe snobby), I admit.  So, when Tom brought me this glass of wine I was prepared to not like it. But, I am pleased to say it is very good. This wine was on sale for $6.99 (regularly priced at $9.99) and it is an excellent value. This is a fruity, juicy Cabernet with lots of black cherries in the aroma; this same burst of fruit mixes with vanilla  on the palate. The finish is chocolatey. This will go great with our burgers and salad.

It is great to be home. Back to work on Monday!

Leave a Reply

