Abrazo Del Toro Cariñena (2007)

abrazo-del-toro-carinena-2007Tom took a rare mid-week trip into Ann Arbor for an appointment and made a point to stop at Trader Joe’s for some serious wine shopping. When I came home from work, I was delighted to see he had purchased 13 bottles of wine (and two loaves of sourdough bread). This is one of his finds.

Very reasonably priced at $6.99, this Abrazo Del Toro Cariñena 2007 is a Spanish wine that is quite nice. It is always tempting to judge a wine by its price (and I have a propensity for assuming the higher the price, the better the wine), but I aim to be objective–so, here it is. The nose is subtle. There just isn’t much in the way of aromas here. Yet while the bouquet is modest, it is entirely pleasant. The taste is also quite subtle but charming with hints of dark chocolate.

One might describe this as a bit thin but I think it is an excellent mid-week quaff. For dinner tonight I am making a skillet of goulash. I have a great recipe (my own) that is so yummy (definitely comfort food). I will also steam spinach. And maybe a piece of that sourdough bread that Tom brought home from Trader Joe’s. A comforting wine and a comforting dinner for a Thursday night. Cheers!

2 Responses to “Abrazo Del Toro Cariñena (2007)”

  1. grace Says:

    Thank you for this post! A guest brought a bottle of the 2003 version of this wine to a paella party we had a few months ago. We just opened the bottle last week and really liked it. I searched all the fine wine shops in Ann Arbor for it to no avail. I found your blog today and ran right over to Trader Joes to pick up half a dozen bottles. Thanks!!

    • Tom & Melody Says:

      Grace, I’m so glad that we were able to help you locate this wine. How handy that you have a Trader Joe’s near by. I think while you are there, you might as well get some sourdough bread. . . :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

