Iglesia Vieja Reserva (2003)

Iglesia Vieja Reserva 2003This Iglesia Vieja Reserva 2003 from Spain, a blend of 68% Mataro, 21% Cabernet Sauvignon, and 11% Tempranillo, is just my style. The color is purplish in the glass. The nose is a refreshingly soft spice. And the taste is fruity and luscious with a peppery finish. This is really a delicious wine. And probably too lovely for a Thursday night, but oh well!

This is a beautiful Michigan evening; children are all out romping around the neighborhood because it is 48 degrees! We can smell spring and we are all giddy about it. Trigger had an active day outside today and now she is sleeping soundly by my side.

Tom: This a great big red: chocolaty and tannic. Some fruit taste, but not fruit forward. Very nice.

20 Responses to “Iglesia Vieja Reserva (2003)”

  1. Fernando Mata Says:

    I had the opportunity to have this wine and found it to be excellent. But I have not been able to find a place to buy it. Do you have any information. Thanks.

  2. Tom & Melody Says:

    Hello Fernando, I think we received this wine from 4Seasons wine club. Try their website, which is 4Seasonswine.com. Let me know if you have any more difficulty finding the wine, okay?

  3. CHRISTY Says:

    I BELONG TO 4SEASONS ALSO. I LOVE THIS PARTICULAR WINE AND I DON’T BELIEVE THEY SELL IT ANYMORE. ANY ADVICE ON WHERE ONE MIGHT PURCHASE MORE OF THIS GREAT WINE?

    CHRISTY

  4. Tom & Melody Says:

    Hello Christy. Thanks for your comment. Keep checking this blog because we often hear from other readers who know how to find a particular wine. We have very informed and savvy readers here! Someone will likely post a comment about where you can purchase this wine. Stay tuned and thanks again for your comment.

  5. Tiffanie Says:

    Do you happen to know the value of the Iglesia Vieja 2003? We received it as a personal donation for our non-profit organization’s wine pull. The donor isn’t sure of the value and I’m having a hard time finding any pricing information. Thanks for your help!

  6. Tom & Melody Says:

    Hello Tiffanie,

    I looked through all my information and could not locate the exact price of this bottle. However, I can give you an educated guess. I recall this wine to approximately $9. If I find proof of this price, I will post a confirmation here, okay?

  7. Ben Says:

    I am also a member of 4 Seasons wine and enjoyed this bottle. Here is a link on the 4 Seasons website to re-order a previous order. https://www.4seasonswine.com/fsfw6a/index.aspx

    This bottle can be ordered increments of 6.

  8. Tom & Melody Says:

    Thank you, Ben! Very helpful and thoughtful of you!

  9. Larry Says:

    What a really terrific red for almost nothing in cost. I truly love finding the, good to great, wines for pennys. I do have to taste quite a few, to find these jewels and some one has too sacrifice themselves, oh joy! Iglesia Vieja is one of the few wines where each type of grape is present complementing one another. Very, very good vin.

  10. Tom & Melody Says:

    Hello Larry. Yes, what a joy to find a delicious wine at a moderate price. This particular wine seems to be loved by everyone who tries it. Thank you so much for sending along your comments!

  11. Carol Says:

    I have been looking for this wine for months. A friend served the wine at dinner but couldn’t remember where they got it. I just ordered a case from 4 seasons. Thank you Ben! And Tom & Melody for hosting this blog.

  12. Tom & Melody Says:

    Yay!! That makes my day, Carol. So glad you found the wine. Thanks Ben!

  13. annie Says:

    I just opened this wine based on your recommendation. Fantastic plums indeed! A little breathing room and it’s ready to please. Thanks!
    Annie

  14. Tom & Melody Says:

    Annie — What a great description! Thank you for sending along your comments!

  15. Christine Roffi Says:

    Dear friends,

    My husband brought this wine to the USA through the Four Seasons Wine Club. Unfortunately, the importer is no longer Lionstone International but Direct Wines from England which owns the Wall Street Journal Wine Club. They decided to discontinue the wine. What a shame! This wine is very personal to me as it is for a cause close to my heart, Autism Awareness. If you want it back in your market, you need to call WSJ Wine Club (1-877-975-9463 ) and ask for it!
    Cheers!
    Christine and Bruce

    • Tom & Melody Says:

      Christine & Bruce. . .This is an interesting development. Now, a follow up question: Just because Direct Wines discontinued the wines, does that also mean that the winemakers no longer make it? Or does it mean that the wines would still be available through another distributor?

  16. Fernando Mata Says:

    Still looking for the Iglesia Vieja. Got two cases back in 2008 but Four Seasons is now Laithwaites Wines and they don’t have it. Have you heard of anybody else carrying this great wine.

  17. vino crianza Says:

    Fantastic post, very informative. I’m wondering why the other experts of this sector do not understand this. You must continue your writing. I’m sure, you have a great readers’ base already!|What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It positively useful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to give a contribution & assist different customers like its helped me. Good job.

    • - Says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words. We have been taking a break from blogging for about the last year and we have plans to get back to it. Your comment certainly spurs us on!

  18. john Says:

    Just opened this bottle tonight. Delicious.


Leave a Reply

