Simunye Shiraz (2004)

Simunye Shiraz 2004This Simunye Shiraz 2004 from South Africa is quite luscious. In the glass it is a youthful ruby red. The nose is all oak and cedar (like a freshly-built deck). On the palate is lots of fruit — raspberries and blackberries — with structured tannins. The finish is full and rich.

We will have this tonight with a roast beef that I have had cooking at a low temperature for several hours. It is Friday night and we are celebrating!

5 Responses to “Simunye Shiraz (2004)”

  1. Gigi Van Hise Says:

    I just tried this wine the other night and was blown away! It is truly delisious. The aroma is wonderful and makes you feel as if you are drinking the nector of the gods. Everyone should try this particular shiraz. I have tried others and they do not compare! I have just ordered a case to be delivered. I never want to be without this wine.

  2. Tom & Melody Says:

    Hello Gigi! Wow, now THAT is a great sales pitch if I ever heard one! What a coincidence. . . we actually chose this wine for our evening cocktail hour. Then, I turned on my computer and saw your comment. Perfect timing! As you know, we have had this wine before and we are having it for our second or third time. You are right: It is fabulous! Thanks for your comment!

  3. Nancy Says:

    Melody,

    My fiance and I just recieved this wine as a Christmas present from my brother-in-law. I figured I would read a few reviews about it and was surprised that there was very little written about this wine, however, on the flip side, the few reviews that I did read were primarily all positive! I think we’ll keep this one in our wine cellar for a while and let it age a little longer. Heck, if it’s as good as you say, then it can only get better with age! 🙂

  4. Tom & Melody Says:

    Good idea, Nancy. Congratulations on your upcoming nuptials! When is the big day?

  5. Jim Says:

    Where can I find some of this Simunye Shiraz (2004) to purchase?


Leave a Reply

