Villagiachi Chianti Vendemmia (2005)

Villagiachi Chianti 2005This Villagiachi Chianti Vendemmia 2005 is old world, dry, and tannic. Not a fruit-forward wine but a more austere, serious quaff. I like it very much. This is not the wicker-basket bottle of Chianti that I remember from college; it is more sophisticated and ascetic. I am marinating pork loin chops, and I think this will pair well, along with sauteed mushrooms, brown rice, and spinach. Poor me; I am also nursing a summer cold. This is the first cold I have had in years. I am so healthy I never get sick but this germ got to me.

Tom: This Villagiachi Chianti 2005 is very nice. It’s tannic but still fairly soft, with hints of cherry and vanilla. This is a very easy-drinking wine, and will be excellent with our pork chops.

6 Responses to “Villagiachi Chianti Vendemmia (2005)”

  1. Vicki Voisin Says:

    I’m not sure which sounds better, the wine or the meal! Yum!

  2. Tom & Melody Says:

    Vicki, I think the wine may have won although the dinner WAS fabulous, if I do say so myself! I made such a tasty marinade — the pork chops were bursting with flavor.

  3. Vicki Voisin Says:

    Do share the marinade ingredients when you have time…

  4. Chianti Villagiachi Vendemmia (2005) « Tom and Melody’s wine blog Says:

    […] tasted this twice before: here and here. Posted in Chianti, Italian wines, Over […]

  5. Tim Says:

    This is the first time I ever heard of Chianti (other than from Silence of the Lambs) not to mention try. I was suprised to find how much I enjoyed it.

  6. Tom & Melody Says:

    I just asked Tom about this because I couldn’t recall anything “chianti-ish” about the Silence of the Lambs and Tom told me the famous quote. Oh my! I think that is one line I would rather forget than remember! How funny!


Leave a comment