Oberon Spätburgunder Rotwein Trocken 2005

Oberon Spätburgurder 2005This Oberon Spätburgunder (Pinot Noir) 2005 from Germany has a light-ruby, pale color. I notice black cherries and grass on the nose. This wine is soft and velvety with just a hint of fruity sweetness. I chose this wine to accompany our roast chicken dinner tonight. I think it will be perfect.

Tom: This Oberon Spätburgunder 2005 (rotwein means red wine, trocken means dry) is a very interesting pinot noir: it has a very strong bouquet and taste of cherries, it is ruby in color, medium in body, dry but not tannic. (It comes from the Baden region of southern Germany, which is near the French wine region of Alsace.) This is a fun and different wine and will be excellent with our roast chicken.

7 Responses to “Oberon Spätburgunder Rotwein Trocken 2005”

  1. gary Says:

    My wife and drank this wine tonight, and had no idea where it was from. It was nice to see something about on your blog. thanks.
    G

  2. Tom & Melody Says:

    Gary — Thank you so much for your comment. We appreciate it!

  3. Laura Bostick Says:

    Hello,
    I tried the Oberon Baden spatburgunder rotwein trocken 2005. I received it as a gift and just opened it. I fell in love with it. It was so smooth and had a lovely color. I am not sure where I can purchase it. I am having a hard time finding it. I live in Michigan, do you have any idea where I can purchase it? It was wonderful and I am not even sure who gave it to me or I would ask them. Thank you.

  4. Tom & Melody Says:

    Hello Laura, It’s great to hear that you enjoyed this wine. This wine came in a wine club shipment–I believe it was from 4Seasons wine (www.4SeasonsWine.com).

    Maybe you can try searching their website and see if it is available.

    Where in Michigan do you live?

  5. Trevor Says:

    Hi all, I am not to sure how much it would cost to send wine to the USA, I will look into the prices! It is quite hard to believe that German wine is so hard to come by in the USA, I have heard this quite a few times!

    Maybe some one would like to do a joint venture with me and my wine!
    Have a fantastic day enjoy your wine.

    Greetings from Germany
    Trevor

  6. Quickthink » Blog Archive » 2006 Oberon Spätburgunder? Says:

    […] are a few leftover bottles of the 2006 Oberon Spätburgunder and I will crack one open tonight. I saw some nice comments about the 2005.  More later on the […]


Leave a Reply

